Hurricane Sandy Scouting Support Exchange – Staten Island

The past week has seen an unprecedented natural disaster, in our area. It is clear that many people are looking for ways to help those in need, and those in need looking for help.

This page is intended for Staten Island Scouting units who are looking for ways to help others, and units who are working on relief that need additional help.

If your unit needs additional help from please “Leave a Comment” here stating: what you need, when and where you need it, and who and how to contact for more information.

If your unit is looking for a way to help, please “Leave a Comment” with the name and contact information of the primary contact person for your unit.

On occasion, I will add information about organizations looking for assistance.

If you are unable to eave a comment, please contact me.

Links to relief information

Here is a good list of items needed on Staten Island.

17 responses to “Hurricane Sandy Scouting Support Exchange – Staten Island

  1. The Group of Citizens Of New Dorp (which sponsors Pack/Troop/Ship 24) has a hall full of donations. We are looking for honest people to keep the doors open and assist with sorting and helping those who truly need the supplies as well as deliveries. Please text me at 917-723-1813

  2. Hello.

    We are Boy Troop 768, Millersville, Maryland. We are interested in sending donations needed for relief.

    I can be reached at 443-994-2031 or email
    jetjocitch@yahoo.com

    Thank you and look for your reply.

    Larry Doll
    ASM Troop 768

  3. Hello Fellow Scouts,
    I am the Scoutmaster for Troop 45 from Needmore,PA. What can we do to help? We can come and help with any needs you might have. We can bring tools and man power. My name is Jim Fuller you can reach me at jfuller@innernet.net

  4. Hello Scouts,

    My name is John Coombs and I am the Den leader for the Pack 170 Webelos I den in Doylestown, PA. Our young scouts would like to help out in any way we can. Please contact me at pajetset@verizon.net or txt. me at (609) 977-9094 if you can use our help.

    Best to all of you!

  5. Hello.

    We are Cub Scout Pack 2020 in Atlanta, GA. We are interested providing assistance to the families of a brother pack through recovery care packages. We will be meeting next week and would like to start the collection process.

    I can be reached at 404-676-0443 or email vhead@coca-cola.com.

    Thank you and looking forward to your reply.

    Yours in Scouting,
    Vernetta Head
    Parent Volunteer – Advancement Chair
    Pack 2020

  6. Thanks all. I have forwarded this to our District heads, and local DE. We have a few efforts underway, and there is still much to do to ensure proper distribution of appropriate materials to those affected.

    The word that is being distributed by officials lists the following items (among others), or types of items needed:
    Cleaning supplies
    Contractor bags
    Brooms
    Shovels
    Gloves
    Rakes
    Cleansers/Disinfectants
    Lights/lanterns
    Batteries
    Tarps
    etc

    I will update as needed. I will also provide an address for shipments as soon as I can.

    Yours in Scouting

  7. Cindy O'DOnohue

    We are from Pack 177 of the Des Plaines Valley Council in LaGrange Illinois. We would like to help and will gather some of the requested items and check back on the web site to see where to send.

    Our thought and prayers are with your community!
    Yours in Scouting,
    Cindy O’Donohue, COR of Pack 177 – Des Plaines Valley Council

  8. My name is Bill Darrough. I am a 40 year Scouter in the National Capital Area Council (Washington, DC area), and an Eagle.

    After Katrina, I organized a cash donation from Troop 996 (my Troop), directly to a Scout Troop in New Orleans. An old high school and college friend was a Troop Chairman in Baton Rouge. He, and the local Scout executive identified and put us in contact with them. They had lost everything, including their Chartering Organization, which was flooded and condemned. Half of the Troop never returned to New Orleans, but a year later they were back up and running. We collected about $500 and donated it directly to this Troop. We wanted to know if you could help us identify a Troop in your Council that had Scouting related losses that we could possibly help with. We have already collected some funds, and haven’t even “passed the hat” yet. We are having a Veteran’s Day Flag Retirement ceremony this evening where I’ll have the opportunity to do my “begging” spiel with most Troop parents and some of the public in attendance. I’m a grumpy “old timer” who prefers the direct method of dealing with people and groups “one on one”. The National Council is running a donation program, but from my experience, it will go into a general fund. I still have the letter from the New Orleans Troop. It was a heartfelt “Thank You” from one brother Scout Troop to another. That is the kind of direct donation that we’re looking for.

    Please let me know if we can help. Some of our other Troop members have family and friends who were devastated by the storm, and we’ll probably divide the proceeds, but I wanted to check with you also.

    Yours In Scouting,

    Bill Darrough
    Committee Member
    Former Scoutmaster
    Troop 996
    Alexandria, VA
    (703) 660-6048

  9. I have two pairs of almost-new 38 waist boy scout pants (shortened for someone 5’4 or under). I am guessing there are other people who would have Scout uniform parts to contribute. Can I mail these anywhere? Thank you. Helen Rosenberg 917-698-2384.
    (Corrected phone number)

  10. Greetings,

    Many thanks for reaching out to us. Sorry for the delay in getting back. There are so many grassroots and official relief efforts underway, here on Staten Island, it has been difficult to pin down any one place to coordinate deliveries.

    I have been volunteering at
    Guyon Rescue
    c/o VFW Post No 9587
    575 Mill Road
    Staten Island, NY 10306

    I spoke with one of the coordinators there, this evening. She agreed to having donations sent there. She asked that if money is raised, to have it converted to gift cards to places such as: Target, Lowes, Home Depot, Macys, Bed Bath and Beyond, Sears, and other major retailers located in our area. Residents are finally all getting their utilities back, and headed back into their homes. They are going to need to start buying new clothes, refurnishing their homes, and getting the little things that make day to day easier. The goal at Guyon Rescue is to try to give each family $250 in gift cards, to help get them started.

    Families have been doing demo in their homes, removing sheetrock and insulations, throwing out ruined furniture, etc. Manpower is still a great need. I will collect more info on who to contact to volunteer, or to offer your services to help these families recover and rebuild their homes, and post to the our website, at this address, https://statenislandboyscouts.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/hurricane-sandy-scouting-support-exchange-staten-island/.

    If you send anything there, please let me know when you ship, so I can notify them to keep an eye open.

    Yours in Scouting,
    Ed Brown
    Communications Chair, Aquehonga District

  11. (On behalf of…)
    I own 2 sets of bunk beds, both of which can be separated into 2 twin beds. Carlos and I will purchase new mattresses for each set and actually come to the home(s) of the people who want them and set up.

    The first set, is about 5 to 6 years old, golden colored wood; still looks new.

    The second set, is about 40 years old; dark brown. It is in great shape.

    Please have whoever wants them to call me.

    Thank you.

    Susan Moncada
    Advancement Chairman Troop 105
    347-561-6733 – home
    347-268-9556 – cell

  12. I am the Cubmaster of Pack 14 in VIrginia Beach and we are doing a drive for goods this week ending on Saturday. I am looking into several options on getting the goods up to you but don’t have a location to drop it off. They will probably come up on the weekend of Dec. 8. Any info would be great.
    Brian Arrigo
    Pack 14 Cubmaster
    Virginia Beach VA Council 598
    bjarrigo@gmail.com
    757-343-0949 Cell

  13. I am with a Pack in Clearwater, FL we would like to provide assistance to a fellow Pack in Staten Island. The posts seem to be mostly a week old can you please let me know if anything has changed regarding needs and if I should still send to Guyon Rescue or I can have local family deliver to another location or directly to a Pack.
    Yours In Scouting,
    Jeri
    Den Leader, Pack 484
    motheroceans@live.com

  14. I am with Troop 86 in Tenafly NJ. The boys are organizing a coat drive and would like to identify a community that needs donations of this type.
    Please email me at neus@optonline.net if you have suggestions.

  15. Hello EM Brown,

    Dropped off a care package from Doylestown Pack 170 Webelos I den today and wish you all the best during a very difficult time. I was impressed with the Guyon Rescue, Oakwood Heights VFW Post 9587 efforts to help the people in need. We are thinking about you guys and wish you all the best!

    Yours In Scouting,

    John Coombs
    Pack 170 Webelos I Den Leader

Leave a Reply

